9

I have a Cockatrice enchanted with an aura, Celestial Mantle, which says:

Whenever enchanted creature deals combat damage to a player, double its controller’s life total.

My opponent then enchants the Cockatrice with Control Magic. Next turn, they attack with it.

Who's the controller of the Celestial Mantle at this stage? Who will benefit from Celestial Mantle's ability to double a player's life total?

  • The player who put the Aura onto the creature, or
  • The player controlling the creature?
| improve this question | | | | |
  • 1
    (I'm pretty sure the answer is - the current Cockatrice controller - but I thought I'd ask you the same ...) – ManoFromBerlin Dec 16 '19 at 16:51
  • Well, I disagree: my question is an evidence of the opposite situation...and that this kind of situations happens, and that is a proper and different question. – ManoFromBerlin Dec 19 '19 at 17:44
  • Not really, it is 'who controls a permanent' which is something that has been answered several times here ;) – Ayatollah of Rock 'n' Rolla Dec 19 '19 at 17:46
  • 1
    I agree with this. Thus, wait a little for my next question... – ManoFromBerlin Dec 20 '19 at 14:25
17

You're still controlling the aura.

303.4e An Aura’s controller is separate from the enchanted object’s controller or the enchanted player; the two need not be the same. If an Aura enchants an object, changing control of the object doesn’t change control of the Aura, and vice versa. Only the Aura’s controller can activate its abilities. However, if the Aura grants an ability to the enchanted object (with “gains” or “has”), the enchanted object’s controller is the only one who can activate that ability.

However, in this case it doesn't matter. The aura says

double its controller's life total

"its" refers to the enchanted creature, not the aura itself. So your opponent will get the benefits here.

| improve this answer | | | | |
  • In fact, it's like I thought ... I also said it in the comment above. I ask for it just to make sure about. it is a quite simple question... But please...don't rate me bad for doing this!!! – ManoFromBerlin Dec 16 '19 at 17:01
  • 1
    It can however be useful for beginners, or for a quick recognition of the rules about this kind of topics... – ManoFromBerlin Dec 16 '19 at 17:02
  • 1
    @Massimiliano An aura and its target are less connected than one might intuitively think. I know many people, for instance, tap auras on creatures that attack. That might often be just a convenience, but it's easy to believe that the auras actually tap if you haven't been specifically told that they don't. In fact, placing it under or on top of the card it enchants is also "a convenience". Pedantically (at least according to the Comp rules; I know little of tournament rules), one might just as well play them out on the table completely separate like any other card. But please don't. – Arthur Dec 16 '19 at 19:33
  • 2
    An interesting thing is that older Auras and Equipment tended to give benefits to their controllers such as Spirit Link, and newer enchantments tend to give the benefits to the Enchanted/Equiped permanent. – CALEB F Dec 16 '19 at 22:56
  • 3
    Also note cards like Vow of Flight (there's a full five color rotation of similar auras), which would be completely pointless if ownership of an aura was synced with the permanent it's enchanting. – Austin Hemmelgarn Dec 17 '19 at 2:54

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.