2

In Catan Explorers and Pirates, can a ship share a hex side with a road?

enter image description here

  • It is worth pointing out the distinction between the question of if a ship in Explorers and Pirates can share a space with a road versus if a ship in Seafarers of Catan can share a space with a road. For Seafarers, the rules specifically state "You may not build a ship along a coast route if there is already a road along that hex side (and vice versa)" however this rule does not apply to the exact question being asked. – JMoravitz Jan 2 at 20:12
1

Yes, 2 ships and a road can share a coastline.

According to the FAQ for Catan Pirates and Explorers:

Sea Routes - Are only ships allowed on "sea routes" located between terrain hexes and sea hexes / frame, or may I also build roads there?

Roads may be built on all paths, both inland and along the coast. At the shore, roads can be parallel to ships, meaning that up to 1 road + 2 ships may simultaneously occupy a path on the coast.

Source : Catan FAQ page 157

| improve this answer | |
0

Looking at rules [here] I see no reason why not1 Small Caveat, I've never played this expansion but the rules seem fairly clear.

Firstly I can't find anything in the rules that prohibits this. If this was not allowed I believe it would be explicitly stated. The rules do include very details rules about the building a movement of ships. The following all make me think its fine as well

The rules define a Sea Route as :-

The edges of a sea hex are called sea routes. Sea routes separate sea hexes from each other and terrain hexes from sea hexes.

So if the ship is in a sea route than it cant be in same space as the road which is on land.

In the rules for building ships it states :-

When you build a ship, place it on a sea route directly adjacent to one of your harbour settlements, with the following conditions:

None of the following conditions say that you cant build a ship a sea route next to a road.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.