11

I have Nikya of the Old Ways out on the battlefield:

Whenever you tap a land for mana, add one mana of any type that land produced.

I play Nyxbloom Ancient:

If you tap a permanent for mana, it produces three times as much of that mana instead.

I tap a Forest. How much green mana do I make?

Which of the following answers is correct?

  • (1+1)x3=6
  • 1×3+1=4

I'm confused about the order of the calculation. An explanation is much appreciated.

17

Nikya's ability doesn't cause the Forest to produce {G}{G}; it still produces {G} and Nikya's triggered ability produces another one. You don't tap Nikya for mana, so Nyxbloom Ancient only applies to the original {G} from the forest and you make 4 green mana.

Now, two Nyxbloom Ancients would stack, cf. the following ruling on Mana Reflection:

The effects of multiple Mana Reflections are cumulative. For example, if you have three Mana Reflections on the battlefield, you’ll get eight times the original amount and type of mana.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.