When playing the board game Scotland Yard, does Mr. X reveal his location on every turn of the travel log that is circled? Or does he hide his location on every circled turn of the travel log and reveal it for all other turns?

  • 1
    Is there a reason why you suspect it is the latter? Because it definitely isn't, and the game would be very short and unsatisfying if you tried to play it that way... Commented Jan 10, 2020 at 20:52
  • @Southpaw Hare : In that case, should you not edit his question so that only 1 question is asked instead of 2 questions? Commented Jan 10, 2020 at 21:01
  • 3
    @RobertMiller The issue is not the number of questions being asked, but rather, that I think this question(s) are on the borderline of being too simple or showing no research effort. It's essentially the basic premise of the game. Commented Jan 10, 2020 at 21:05

1 Answer 1


Mr X. reveals his current location on, and only on, the circled turns, or at any time he is on the same space as a police player (in which case he immediately loses the game and the police players win the game). All remaining turns (the majority) are played as hidden information.

Keep in mind that if Mr. X uses a Double Move Token to skip over a reveal turn, Mr. X must still reveal where he was at that time even though he is no longer there. For this reason as well as convenience, it is a common house rule to leave the Mr. X token on his "last known location" at the last time of reveal.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .