7

I cast Ixalan's Binding, and its etb targets and exiles my opponent's Rampaging Baloths. Later in the game I use the -7 on Ashiok, Nightmare Muse, choosing to cast my opponent's exiled Rampaging Baloths.

Can my opponent now cast another copy of Rampaging Baloths, since the previously exiled copy is no longer under Binding, or can they still not cast cards named Rampaging Baloths?

8

From a ruling on Gatherer:

If there is no exiled card (perhaps because the exiled permanent was a token or was a commander that moved to the command zone in the Commander variant), Ixalan’s Binding won’t stop players from casting spells.

If you cast the card from exile using Ashiok then there is no more exiled card. Therefore, your opponent can cast whatever they want, including Rampaging Baloths.

  • 1
    This ruling could still leave some players unsure; as it refers to what happens in situations when there never was any exiled card. In the OP's case, there actually was an exiled card, it just stopped being exiled. – GendoIkari Jan 16 at 15:26
  • An example being in the case of tricks like with Fiend Hunter, sacrificing it and causing it's leave-the-battlefield to trigger with no cards in exile. – CollinB Jan 16 at 15:56
6

They will now be able to cast Rampaging Baloths again.

Ixalan's Binding has linked abilities on it; and in order for the second ability to do anything, the card exiled by the first ability must still be in exile.

  1. Linked Abilities

    607.2a If an object has an activated or triggered ability printed on it that instructs a player to exile one or more cards and an ability printed on it that refers either to “the exiled cards” or to cards “exiled with [this object],” these abilities are linked. The second ability refers only to cards in the exile zone that were put there as a result of an instruction to exile them in the first ability.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.