-2

Following up on this question: in the current rules a player can't control two Legends of the same name simultaneously. However, suppose I do one of the following:

  1. I summon a Clone copying another Legendary Creature I control.

  2. I summon Copy Artifact copying another Legendary Artifact I control, such as Traxos, Scourge of Kroog.

In these cases should one of these immediately go to their owner's graveyard?

It is not obvious to me since the two cards (the original and the copy) do not have actually the same "name", but only the same appearance.

That makes me suspect the Legend Rule might not apply in these situations:

704.5j: If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners' graveyards. This is called the “legend rule".

(emphasis mine)

4

An object's name is among the values that get copied when copying an object:

706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The “copiable values” are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by “as . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.

That means that if you copy your Nicol Bolas with Vesuvan Doppelganger you will control two legendary permanents named "Nicol Bolas" and will have to put all but one of them into your graveyard the next time any player would gain priority as per rule 704.5j.

There are a few effects that circumvent this. Sakashima the Impostor does so by explicitly retaining its original name when it copies another creature. Helm of the Host does so by removing the "Legendary" supertype from the copies it makes. In either case, you would not control multiple legendary permanents with the same name, and so the "legend rule" wouldn't apply.

| improve this answer | |
  • 2
    worth mentioning: Sakashima the Impostor circumvents this. – Ivo Beckers Jan 22 at 11:36
  • Ok. But does this mean that, when Vesuvan Doppelganger takes on the characteristics of a legend in play, is it not "called" Vesuvan Doppelganger anymore? In this case, what about his original name? No longer exists? Is it simply replaced with that of the copied creature? In these cases, Vesuvan Doppelganger will never be called "Vesuvan Doppelganger" when he is on the battlefield...I find it strange. – ManoFromBerlin Jan 22 at 16:15
  • @ManoFromBerlin see the bolded part of the rules quote. The name, just like other things such as power and type, are copied from the original card. So the original name simply no longer exists. – GendoIkari Jan 22 at 16:18

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.