6

Let's say I have 15 copies of Strionic Resonator for a total of 16 triggers and I attack with Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger and copy its triggered ability to exile 20 cards from the top of defending players deck. Can I choose a different player or players to exile from or does it have to be defending player's deck?

10

You cannot choose any other player than the defending player. Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger says:

Whenever Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger attacks, defending player exiles the top twenty cards of their library.

As you can see, there is no word 'target' in the ability. That means that when copied with Strionic Resonator, it doesn't allow you to choose another player.

The number of Strionic Resonators is irrelevant in this case. The ability works the same. You get more triggers though.

  • 1
    Thank you I kind of figured but needed to ask – Jason Aviugana Jan 31 at 4:59
  • No problem. You're welcome! :) – Aulis Ronkainen Jan 31 at 5:00
6

You can't redirect the ability with Strionic Resonator. The ability on Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger does not specify the keyword "target" and you do not choose a target. You can copy the ability but it would only allow you to exile cards from the top of the defending player's library.

  • That's what I figured but wanted to ask. Thank you! – Jason Aviugana Jan 31 at 4:40

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.