2

If I have Ancestor Dragon out and attack with 3 creatures does it trigger for creatures attacking and I gain 3 life or does it trigger for each attacking creature and I'd gain 3 life for each of the 3 attacking creatures thus gaining 9 life?

4

Ancestor Dragon says:

Whenever one or more creatures you control attack, you gain 1 life for each attacking creature.

It triggers only once for each attack if you attack with one or more creatures. If you attack with 3 creatures you gain 3 life.

To clarify, the ability doesn't trigger for each attacking creature, just for each time you attack.

If you attack the second time (for example if you have an additional combat phase) then the ability will trigger again.

  • 1
    Note that "Whenever a creature you control attacks, you gain 1 life" would, in most situations (Stifle is an exception), be functionality equivalent, and confusing in exactly the reverse way. – Arthur Jan 31 at 15:31
  • @Arthur I believe that with the Ancestor Dragon wording, there's only one lifegain event, while your wording isn't as clear. – Acccumulation Jan 31 at 23:54
  • @Accumulation Yes, the original wording makes it only one lifegain event, so Ajani's Pridemate also cares about the difference. But I think they are equally clear. It is a common enough wording, although never attached to pure lifegain. – Arthur Feb 1 at 8:08
  • 1
    @Arthur What, never? (Notable for being in the same standard as Ajani's Pridemate and Heliod, the Sun-Crowned) – Arcanist Lupus Feb 1 at 18:08
  • @ArcanistLupus You're right. I was too specific and the "white" made it not appear in my search. – Arthur Feb 1 at 19:00

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.