0

I was thinking about a character in the TV show during one episode of sun and moon Ash meets a trainer who just loves Pikachu and I wanted to make a deck baced on her so I understand you can only have 4 with the same name but what if they had a different name like "Pikachu libre" or "detective Pikachu" or ex and gx

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

0
0

I guess this isn't a complete duplicate, but a similar question has an answer here:

Pokemon cards with the same name and different features

You can play up to 4 copies of cards with the same name. If they have different names you can play up to 4 copies of each of them in your deck.

Rules text on the rule of playing multiple copies of a card (quoted from a quote in this answer: https://boardgames.stackexchange.com/a/47062/24175):

DECK BUILDING

(...)

Also, except for basic Energy, you can only have 4 cards with the same name in your deck. This means you can have only 4 cards called “Pignite” in your deck, even if they all have different attacks. Finally, your deck must have at least one Basic Pokémon in it.

(...)

If you are wondering what it means to have the same name (quoted from a quote in this answer: https://boardgames.stackexchange.com/a/47062/24175):

WHAT DOES AND DOESN’T COUNT FOR A POKÉMON’S NAME?

• Some Pokémon cards have extra information after their name, such as a Level or a symbol like GL. A Pokémon’s name changes how you can evolve or play certain cards. Level is not part of a Pokémon’s name:
    ◆ Gengar, Gengar LV. 43, Gengar LV. 44, and Gengar LV.X all have the same name
• Symbols at the end of a Pokémon’s name are part of a Pokémon’s name:
    ◆ Alakazam, Alakazam , and Alakazam ☆ all have different names from each other
    ◆ However, δ (Delta Species) is not part of a Pokémon’s name. Aerodactyl and Aerodactyl δ (Delta Species) have the same name
• An owner or form name in a Pokémon’s name is part of the Pokémon’s name:
    ◆ Meowth, Alolan Meowth, and Rocket’s Meowth have different names

When you are building a deck, you can have only 4 copies of a card with the same name in it, except for basic Energy cards. If your deck has 1 each of Gengar, Gengar LV. 43, Gengar LV. 44, and Gengar LV.X, you can’t put any more cards named Gengar in your deck! However, you could have 4 Meowth, 4 Alolan Meowth, and 4 Rocket’s Meowth.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.