6

How does Channel (the Kamigawa mechanic, not the card) work when your commander has such an ability, such as Arashi, the Sky Asunder? Can I use it from the command zone? Do I pay the tax when I use channel? Does it increase when I use channel?

10

You cannot use channel from the command zone. Channel is an ability that has both a mana cost, and the requirement to discard the card. Discarding a card is only from your hand, not from the command zone.

This means you need to somehow get your commander into your hand (such as with Command Beacon or Road of Return). Once they're there you can activate their Channel ability and discard them, and this wouldn't involve the commander tax since it doesn't involve casting your commander from the command zone.

| improve this answer | |
  • I added a second paragraph to your answer. I hope that's OK. – doppelgreener Feb 18 at 18:42
  • @doppelgreener I was considering adding something along those lines, but it felt like it wasn't really necessary for the answer. Now that it's there, I'm not going to remove it though! – CollinB Feb 18 at 18:52
  • Worth noting that if you do discard your commander from hand, you can choose to put it in your command zone instead of your graveyard. – GendoIkari Feb 18 at 20:37
  • @GendoIkari and still be able to activate channel, correct? – CollinB Feb 18 at 20:55
  • @CollinB Correct; you still paid the cost of discarding it; even though the card was put into command zone instead of graveyard. – GendoIkari Feb 18 at 21:30

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.