3

As long as the card Nylea, Keen-Eyed -
(or the parallel red card, or Purphoros, Bronze-Blooded, or Athreos, Shroud-Veiled, or other specular cards, often with the subtype "God") -
is not yet a creature, since his devotion to the indicated color has not yet reached the sufficient value, does he still possess the indestructible ability? I'll explain better.

For example, since it's a card that's also an enchantment, could it be destroyed by a Disenchant as long as it's not a creature; or is the indestructible ability active even when it's not yet a creature?

9

Yes, the Enchantment Gods are always indestructible, whether or not they are creatures.

When the Gods stop being a creature due to insufficient Devotion, the only things they lose are the creature type, the creature-related subtype (God), and their power and toughness. Abilities of that object are not affected, even if they are abilities that wouldn't make sense on a non-creature, such as Trample. However, Indestructible isn't even a creature-only ability, as there are non-creatures with that ability, such as Darksteel Relic.

208.3. A noncreature permanent has no power or toughness, even if it’s a card with a power and toughness printed on it (such as a Vehicle). [..]

205.1a [..] If an object’s card type is removed, the subtypes correlated with that card type will remain if they are also the subtypes of a card type the object currently has; otherwise, they are also removed for the entire time the object’s card type is removed. [..]

| improve this answer | |
5

As Gatherer says on each of the Gods you link to, as well as any other such God:

The abilities of Gods function as long as they’re on the battlefield, regardless of whether they’re creatures.

So the indestructible ability still works when your devotion is too low.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.