6

On the last move, after only 2 train pieces remains, is it possible to claim a 3-carriage route, if you have the 3 required color cards but only 2 plastic trains left to place on the board?

20

No, you cannot claim a route longer than the number of plastic trains you have left.

Ticket to Ride Rules

Claim a Route
The player may claim a route on the board by playing a set of Train Car cards that match the color and length of the route and then placing one of his colored trains on each space of this route...

Claiming Routes
... When a route is claimed, the player places one of his plastic trains in each of the spaces of the route...

| improve this answer | |
  • 4
    And explicitly from the publisher: "No you absolutely can't play more cards/lay more tracks than you have trains left!" --Eric Hautemont, DoW, 2004. boardgamegeek.com/thread/19644/train-car-pieces-end-game – L. Scott Johnson Mar 6 at 12:37
  • 3
    It would ruin the resource management part of the game, since you could calm a 4 or 5 route with 2 trains. – Styxsksu Mar 6 at 15:33
  • @Styxsksu not ruin.... it would become part of people's strategies... I'd leave a 6 route empty, and then make sure my second to last move leaves me only with one train, to maximise the "free trains" I get from this. It's.... a different meta I guess. (not an enjoyable one imho) – Patrice Mar 6 at 20:24
  • I can agree with that but it I have also been in the situation where I couldn't complete all of my tickets because the easy route between 2 cities was taken by someone else, so didn't have enough trains to do the other route – Styxsksu Mar 6 at 20:35

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.