5

Sort of a follow-up to Can Hour of Devastation kill Heliod, Sun-Crowned?

Let's say my opponent has two Benalish Marshal and Heliod, Sun-Crowned. I cast Hour of Devastation. Per murgatroid99's answer, Heliod survives.

If my opponent next plays some flash creatures or enchantments that turn Heliod back into a creature, does it still have 5 damage marked on it (+ is no longer indestructible)?

  • "If my opponent next plays some flash creatures or enchantments that turn Heliod back into a creature" Are you imagining a scenario in which there's a creature with "target permanent is now a creature"? If you're referring to devotion, Heliod only cares about your devotion, not your opponent's. – Acccumulation Mar 12 at 18:18
  • @Acccumulation the way the question is worded, Heliod does not care about my devotion, since my opponent is the one controlling Heliod. – Allure Mar 12 at 19:40
5

Yes, Damage is marked on a permanent even if it is not a creature.

Comp rules:

119.6. Damage marked on a creature remains until the cleanup step, even if that permanent stops being a creature.

Heliod will also not be indestructible in the given scenario, since he was a creature while Hour of Devastation was resolving, which is all that HoD cares about. Changing or losing permanent types does not cause Heliod to regain indestructibility.

| improve this answer | |
  • Do you know if the indestructibility remains? – Allure Mar 12 at 6:41
  • @Allure updated the answer – Swimmer F Mar 12 at 8:35

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.