5

Sort of a follow-up to Can Hour of Devastation kill Heliod, Sun-Crowned?

Let's say my opponent has two Benalish Marshal and Heliod, Sun-Crowned. I cast Hour of Devastation. Per murgatroid99's answer, Heliod survives.

If my opponent next plays some flash creatures or enchantments that turn Heliod back into a creature, does it still have 5 damage marked on it (+ is no longer indestructible)?

2
  • "If my opponent next plays some flash creatures or enchantments that turn Heliod back into a creature" Are you imagining a scenario in which there's a creature with "target permanent is now a creature"? If you're referring to devotion, Heliod only cares about your devotion, not your opponent's. Mar 12, 2020 at 18:18
  • @Acccumulation the way the question is worded, Heliod does not care about my devotion, since my opponent is the one controlling Heliod.
    – Allure
    Mar 12, 2020 at 19:40

1 Answer 1

5

Yes, Damage is marked on a permanent even if it is not a creature.

Comp rules:

119.6. Damage marked on a creature remains until the cleanup step, even if that permanent stops being a creature.

Heliod will also not be indestructible in the given scenario, since he was a creature while Hour of Devastation was resolving, which is all that HoD cares about. Changing or losing permanent types does not cause Heliod to regain indestructibility.

2
  • Do you know if the indestructibility remains?
    – Allure
    Mar 12, 2020 at 6:41
  • @Allure updated the answer
    – Swimmer F
    Mar 12, 2020 at 8:35

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .