0

In the following scenario, does a double word premium apply to both words made on the same turn? Player 1 plays the word "book". Player 2 plays the word "shot", placing the "s" on a double word score space, and also forming the word "books".

0
1

Yes.

From the rules,

When two or more words are formed in the same play, each is scored. The common letter is counted (with full premium value, if any) for each word.

(Emphasis mine.)

2
  • Thanks. Maybe I'm taking the rule too literally, as it says that the "common letter" is counted with full premium value for both words. Can I interpret that as saying the premium applies to both words (not just the "common letter")? – user30891 Mar 24 '20 at 14:51
  • The premium value of the letter in your example is to multiply the points for the word built. Or as the rule I quoted says, each of the words built. There is nothing to support a theory that a Double Word square sometimes acts as a Double Letter square – ikegami Mar 24 '20 at 15:37

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.