6

The 13th technology on the manual reads:

After resolving one or more powerups gained from performing a Main action, you may pay 1 cocoa to gain an additional power-up (same Action Board)

While the main action part on the manual reads:

Pay the cost in gold as shown on the selected tile and place one of your Technology markers (wooden discs) on it to mark that you have acquired this Technology. Refer to the Appendix for an explanation of the ongoing benefit of each Technology tile.

After placing the Technology marker, advance once on one temple, depending on which column the selected Technology belongs to: for the left column, for the centre column, for the right column

Afterwards, power up one of your workers on the Alchemy (5) Action Board, unless you used the 3rd option when selecting the tile (you used a single power 4 or 5 worker to place your marker on a second-row Technology).

Therefore, you get the power-up after you have already received the technology, and advanced on a temple. Does this mean that when powering-up your die, can you immediately pay one cocoa to gain an additional power-up?

TLDR: Can you use the technology 13 power on the same die power-up you get from purchasing the technology?

7

No you can not.

From the FAQ file on BGG here the following Q and A is included.

Q: When do Technology benefits trigger? A: Each Technology triggers at most once during your turn. Most Technologies trigger after performing the Main action on the board (or boards) listed at the bottom of each Technology tile. No Technology will trigger during the turn when it was acquired.

I've tried to find evidence to back this up in the rules printed though and could not.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.