2

Monopoly Deal - Suppose, I have 6 cards before I got my turn. I picked up 2 Cards from the deck. Now, I have 8 cards. Can I not use any of the cards in this turn and pass my turn? Which means I have 1 excess of 7 (so i will put 1 card back to the deck). Is this a valid move?

  • 1
    To be clear, your cards in excess of 7 get placed on the discard pile, not the draw pile. – BradC Apr 1 at 20:17
  • Just curious what would be the advantage to drawing excess cards and then not playing any? – Jokus Apr 22 at 22:02
2

Yes. This is explicitly allowed by the rules:

On your turn:
Play up to 3 cards ... You don’t have to play any cards if you don’t want to.

| improve this answer | |
0

Drawing an excess number of cards is a legitimate tactic.

Suppose you have 6 cards at the start of your turn, 3 of which are "Pass Go" (i.e., play to discard pile, draw 2 new cards). In theory, you could finish your turn with 11 cards (6 + 2 drawn at turn start, + 3 for each Pass Go played), so you need to discard 4 of them to get back down to 7. You could discard property cards your opponent is seeking, denying them the chance to draw them / steal them, whilst freeing your own hand up.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.