2

I have a full blue property set and ask the rent (8million) and play a double the rent card, which would make it 16 million in total.

Do they have to pay me 2 x 8 million or 1 x 16 million?

Arguments made by us were: it are two separate cards, so payments should be separate. or the cards should be played simultaneously, so the payment is combined in one.

Which is correct?

4
3

Looking at the rules here the rules clarification for Double the Rent says (emphasis mine)

Play with a standard rent card to double the amount

The FAQ link to here it says

  1. Does the Double The Rent card count as a turn? Does it count as one of your three plays? Yes. An example would be a player lays a property card, a rent card, and a double the rent card during their turn. This would be all three of their card plays.

So based on that i would says that 'Double the rent' is playing with (ie simultaneously) with the rent card. The payment is 1 x 16 million lump sum because 'Double the Rent' and 'Rent' are played at exactly the same time.

I'm confused as to why asking for 16 million once over 8 million twice makes a difference as I've only played this once many years ago under duress and just checked the rules to answer this.

5
  • 1
    In my eyes: Playing card with, only implies that otherwise it is useless. Normally it wouldn't matter but really matter but if no change is given for excess payments, it mattered a lot in this case
    – Bob
    Apr 4 '20 at 12:07
  • 1
    If no change is given then yes I see why it might make a difference now. I still stand by argument reasoning that you play WITH. also that card says double THE rent. there is only one rent still. It doesn't say charge rent again. Apr 4 '20 at 14:14
  • 2
    I like that reasoning. "THE" rent is singular. It's doubled. Apr 4 '20 at 15:57
  • 1
    Agree, always assumed this was the amount of the (single) rent was doubled, not "two rents".
    – steve
    Apr 8 '20 at 10:41
  • According to card description, the amount is doubled. No words about separate payments.
    – belkka
    Nov 14 '20 at 1:39

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.