Let's say I have 4 connected roads with no settlements or cities in between. Can I later go back and place a settlement in there?

  • Just be careful, because your opponent's could also come along with their own road pointing to the middle and build their own settlement there!
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Apr 16, 2020 at 13:54
  • It says somewhere in the rules that if an opponent builds a house in the middle of your road it will break your longest road into two roads - which implies that people can build houses there. Commented Apr 18, 2020 at 9:53

3 Answers 3


Yes, so long as it's not adjacent to another settlement.

A valid location for a settlement is any spot that touches one of your roads, and is not adjacent to any other settlement. I'll also note that it's legal for someone else to put a settlement in the middle of your road, so long as they also have a road that touches that intersection - this will cut your 4-segment road into two 2-segment roads, which can be a useful strategy for killing someone's longest road.


Yes. From the rules:

Each of your settlements must connect to at least 1 of your own roads.


Yes you can build a settlement if:

  • You have a settlement left in stock
  • You have the resources to build the settlement
  • There is no adjacent settlement or city
  • There is one of your roads or ships leading to the spot you want to build the settlement

So yes you can build one along the road.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .