1

The situation: I am playing MTGO and I have a deck with Keruga, the Macrosage in my sideboard and Response // Resurgence in my main deck.

Keruga, the Macrosage states the following, emphases mine:

Companion — Your starting deck contains only cards with converted mana cost 3 or greater and land cards. (If this card is your chosen companion, you may cast it once from outside the game.)

When Keruga, the Macrosage enters the battlefield, draw a card for each other permanent you control with converted mana cost 3 or greater.

The problem: MTGO shows that Keruga, the Macrosage is not a valid Companion once Response // Resurgence is included in my deck, a card with a CMC of 7.

Referencing both rules of split cards:

708.4. In every zone except the stack, the characteristics of a split card are those of its two halves combined. This is a change from previous rules.

708.4b The mana cost of a split card is the combined mana costs of its two halves. A split card’s colors and converted mana cost are determined from its combined mana cost. An effect that refers specifically to the symbols in a split card’s mana cost sees the separate symbols rather than the whole mana cost.

So it should be allowed to cast Keruga, the Macrosage as a companion in this case, correct?

4

You are entirely right, there is no reason that Response // Resurgence should stop you from having Keruga as a companion. Seems like a bug in MTGO to me.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.