If I play a Wild Draw 4 card and the only card I have left in my hand is a red one, can I change the color to green?
Or is it required to have the called color?

  • It is a decent strategy if you only have one card left to not call that color.
    – Styxsksu
    Commented May 4, 2020 at 14:40

1 Answer 1


Yes you can do that. In the rules, there is nothing restricting the color called.

Wild – This card represents all four colors, and can be placed on any card. The player has to state which color it will represent for the next player. It can be played regardless of whether another card is available. If turned up at the beginning of play, the first player chooses what color to continue play.

Wild Draw Four – This acts just like the wild card except that the next player also has to draw four cards as well as forfeit his/her turn. With this card, you must have no other alternative cards to play that matches the color of the card previously played. If you play this card illegally, you may be challenged by the other player to show your hand to him/her. If guilty, you need to draw 4 cards. If not, the challenger needs to draw 6 cards instead. If turned up at the beginning of play, return this card to the Draw pile, shuffle, and turn up a new one.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .