A couple of other questions have been asked regarding cards that "Add one mana of any color to your mana pool", but

  1. One is for EDH decks in general (which, in most cases, have at least one color)
  2. The other is for colorless mana in general (which would likely also be used in a colored deck, or a non-EDH deck where extra colors don't matter)

What I'm trying to answer now is if those sorts of cards can be used in a colorless EDH deck.

So, for example, if I have one of the big Eldrazi as my commander, I know I can have Coalition Relic in the deck because it has a colorless color identity. But, once it's on the field, can I use it to generate usable mana?

  • @Stephen - that's the question he linked to. This question is a duplicate. Oct 20, 2011 at 13:35
  • @Stephen, Neither of the two questions I linked to clearly answered my question. I'm asking about, specifically, colorless EDH decks and trying to figure out what are legal ways to generate mana for them. The two other questions deal with "Any color mana" for EDH, and with regards to colorless-ness, but neither deal with it directly. Since colorless EDH decks are a rather strange beast and has generated a lot of questions and discussion in my play group, I felt a specific question was warranted.
    – cdeszaq
    Oct 20, 2011 at 13:55
  • @cdeszaq In all cases the answer is "903.9". Your question really is "what is the colour identity of an EDH commander who is colourless and costs colourless mana to cast?" ... applying the answer to that question to the referred to question then gives you the whole picture.
    – Stephen
    Oct 20, 2011 at 14:01
  • @cdeszaq - the questions specifies "any EDH deck" which I realize can be confusing since in the context of the game, "any color" does not include colorless, but the question you linked to contains my exact answer. Oct 20, 2011 at 14:04
  • @cdeszaq Or perhaps your question really is "Are lands colourless?"
    – Stephen
    Oct 20, 2011 at 14:05

2 Answers 2


As of January 18th, 2016, the restriction on other colors of mana (mentioned in other answer) was removed.

Rule 4 removed. Decks may now generate mana of any colour.

They can still be in you deck, but now they can make any color of mana.


Yes. This is mentioned in the first question you linked to.

903.9. If mana would be added to a player’s mana pool of a color that isn’t in the color identity of that player’s commander, that amount of colorless mana is added to that player’s mana pool instead.

  • @xornob Please do not make edits that substantially change the content of an answer. If an answer is incorrect and the correct answer is very different, downvote it and/or make a comment. If you have a better answer, post it as your own answer.
    – murgatroid99
    Aug 12, 2016 at 18:22
  • 1
    @murgatroid99 I don't know how I feel about the accepted answer being wrong, so I posted on meta to see if we could make an exception for cases like these.
    – Rainbolt
    Aug 12, 2016 at 20:19

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .