1

A player lands on my property and has no cash. They owe me only $26. They have 1 property, a railroad which is mortgaged. The mortgaged value is $100.

Do I get the mortgaged property and have to pay $74 to this other player or is this player out of the game?

4

The player is bankrupt and out of the game and you get the mortgaged property with some conditions. You will have to pay the bank 10% of the mortgaged value when you get it and before you unmortgage it if it is not on the same turn.

Rules

If you have mortgaged property you also turn this property over to your creditor but the new owner must at once pay the Bank the amount of interest on the loan, which is 10% of the value of the property. The new owner who does this may then, at his/her option, pay the principal or hold the property until some later turn, then lift the mortgage. If he/she holds property in this way until a later turn, he/she must pay the interest again upon lifting the mortgage.

| improve this answer | |
  • So conversely if this player - let’s say had 4 railroads and all of them are mortgaged - and he lands on my property (and now owes me 26$) and has no cash - do I get all the 4 mortgaged railroads?? – Rishabh Baid May 18 at 12:54
  • 2
    When a player goes bankrupt you get all property they own – Joe W May 18 at 12:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.