1

The Diplomacy rules state that

In some rare cases, orders are written so that an Army could arrive at its destination either by land or convoy. When this happens, the following qualifiers apply:

If at least one of the convoying Fleets belongs to the player who controls the Army, then the convoy is used. The land route is disregarded.

If none of the convoying Fleets belongs to the player who controls the Army, then the land route is used. However, the player controlling the Army can use the convoy route if he or she indicated “via convoy” on the Army move order in question.

This prevents foreign powers from kidnapping an Army and convoying it against its will.

How would moving by convoy (regardless of whose Fleet is convoying) ever effect gameplay? How would it be any different from moving by land?

1

Here is an example.

A BEL-HOL
F NTH C BEL-HOL
F HOL-BEL

Two pieces can trade places if and only if one of them is convoyed. So in the above examples, BEL and HOL trade places because BEL is convoyed. Without the fleet to convoy, the two pieces in HOL and BEL would bounce and stay in their respective palces.

| improve this answer | |
  • I would change this to if and only if at least one of them is convoyed. Because it is also possible with two convoy routes. – Toon Krijthe May 18 at 9:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.