2

Haven't seen this covered, but can you use a companion card such as Jegantha, the Wellspring as your commander instead of as a companion? The text on the card reads If this card is your chosen companion you may cast it once from outside the game. Does this mean if I don't choose it as a companion I can use it like any other regular legendary creature?

Thanks.

| improve this question | | | | |
New contributor
Ragazinski is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering. Check out our Code of Conduct.
2

Yes, you can.

The Companion keyword only functions outside of the game. This means that if a card with Companion is in your deck, whether as a Commander or just any regular card, then the Companion part of the card doesn't do anything; it's just a normal creature. In the case of a Commander deck, it would just be a normal Legendary Creature which is therefore valid as your Commander.

702.138. Companion

702.138a Companion is a keyword ability that functions outside the game. It’s written as “Companion—[Condition].” Before the game begins, you may reveal one card you own from outside the game with a companion ability whose condition is fulfilled by your starting deck. (See rule 103.1b.) If you do, once during that game, you may play that card from outside the game.

  1. Commander

    903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones.

Jegantha, the Wellspring is a legendary creature, therefore it can be your Commander.

| improve this answer | | | | |
  • Wonderful. I wasn't sure if companion was a requirement or a choice. Thank you! – Ragazinski May 22 at 17:53
  • @ragazinski If this answer was helpful and a better one doesn’t come along, please mark it as “accepted”, thanks! – GendoIkari 2 days ago

Your Answer

Ragazinski is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.