4

I'm building a mutate deck and since the deck meets the conditions for Jegantha, the Wellspring I wanted to use it, but since I'm running a few of the Apex creatures and their mutate costs don't meet the requirement I wanted to know if Jegantha also looks at alternate costs or if it only looks at base cost for the requirement.

5

The mutate costs don't matter; you can still use Jegantha as your Companion. Jegantha states:

No card in your starting deck has more than one of the same mana symbol in its mana cost.

Mana cost is defined in the rules:

202.1. A card’s mana cost is indicated by mana symbols near the top of the card.

Costs of other abilities that may appear on a card, including mutate costs, are not the mana cost of the card itself, and that is all Jegantha is looking at.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.