0

The Allied Fires Challenger Deck from Magic 2020 contains Sarkhan the Masterless, who can both create dragon tokens, and turn other planeswalkers into dragons.

If a planeswalker that becomes a dragon dies, does it go into the graveyard? What about the dragon tokens that Sarkhan creates?

1
  • 1
    Just a heads up here: due to a recent banning you will not be allowed to use that deck in any competitive MtG events. It's still absolutely fine for playing casually with your friends of course :-) – Philip Kendall Jun 10 '20 at 19:13
2

If a planeswalker becomes a creature, it acts as a creature in every way, including being able to kill it and send it to the graveyard with normal damage.

This means that if you activate Sarkhan the Masterless's +1 ability, then all your planswalkers (including Sarkhan) could be killed with something like Doom Blade or Flame Lash. It will be sent to the graveyard just like any other creature.

When a token creature dies, it does go to the graveyard, but then ceases to exist the next time state-based actions are checked. You can see more details about that here.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.