2

How can you ever buy a development card with 14 tokens? as you can never reach this amount, even when you draw +3 on your turn, the max you can reach is 13, and you cant use them to purchase the card as your tuen is over?

2
  • 2
    The max number of tokens you can reach is 10, not 13. You cannot get tokens and purchase a card on the same turn, and you must always discard down to 10 tokens by the end of your turn.
    – John
    Jun 10 '20 at 12:24
  • 2
    @John He says that already at the end of the question; that you could reach 13, but you wouldn't be able to use them to purchase the card.
    – GendoIkari
    Jun 10 '20 at 19:12
15

I don't think players are meant to by a level 3 development card with just gem tokens. As you righty say, buying a development card costing 14 or more with just gem tokens would be impossible. Are you are aware that development cards count as bonuses? If you look at the rules here they say-

The bonuses a player has from development cards acquired on previous turns provide discounts on the purchase of new cards. Each bonus of a given color is equal to a token of that color. Thus, if a player has 2 blue bonuses and wants to purchase a card which costs 2 blue tokens and 1 green token, the player must only spend 1 green token. If a player has enough development cards (and therefore bonuses), they can even purchase a card without spending any tokens.

So a player can buy a development card costing 14 tokens provided that the cost is reduced by bonuses for previously bought development cards.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.