3

Can I Negate the instant/sorcery part of an adventure spell?

Say, someone casts Stomp from bonecrusher giant. Can I negate it?

6

Yes, there is nothing special about the Adventure half of an Adventurer card while it is on the stack. Comprehensive rules 715.3b:

While on the stack as an Adventure, the spell has only its alternative characteristics.

Countering the Adventure half of an Adventurer card is often a very good play to make as the countered spell goes to its owner's graveyard, not into exile where the non-Adventure half of the card can be cast - e.g. if you counter Stomp, its owner does not get to cast Bonecrusher Giant from exile.

A small note on terminology: the spell does not have halves. An Adventurer card has alternative characteristics, and if cast with those alternative characteristics it is then a spell with solely those characteristics - e.g. what is on the stack is either the instant spell Stomp or the creature spell Bonecrusher Giant, not a split object with both sets of characteristics. This may seem pedantic but it can be important - for example, you cannot use Essence Scatter to counter Stomp, because it is not a creature spell.

| improve this answer | |
  • Hmm, but as a card, it has all the characteristics of both options right? Ie, it is a creature card and an instant card? So, if there was some spell that let you exile a noncreature card from someone's hand, library, graveyard, or stack, then it wouldn't let you exile stomp? – Will Chen Jun 23 at 18:54
  • 1
    @WillChen The very first point of Throne of Eldraine release notes answers that (in the negative). – Roman Odaisky Jun 23 at 19:10
  • @WillChen See also CR 715.4 "In every zone except the stack, and while on the stack not as an Adventure, an adventurer card has only its normal characteristics." - "normal characteristics" here refers to the non-Adventure half of the card. – Philip Kendall Jun 24 at 7:32

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.