In the game spades, is a deuce of clubs/hearts considered a spade? I played where some people argued that they put it in their suite of Spades.

  • 3
    Why would it be considered a spade? As far as I am aware it can't take a trick unless everyone is out of both clubs and spades and depending on the rules the 2 of clubs should be the first card played so that will never happen. – Joe W Jul 6 at 20:58

The deuce of club and hearts do not considered a spade in the standard game, however there are variants where they do.

From Pagat:

In some versions of Spades, some or all of the four twos are elevated to the top of the spade suit, are ranked in some specified order, and are considered to be spades. The rest of the cards rank as in normal.

For example, in the New York City rules the trump suit ranks is as follows: big joker, small joker, 2♦, 2♠, A, K, Q, J, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3.

In the Deuces high rules the trump suit is is as follows:'2♠, 2♦, 2♣ 2♡, A, K, Q, J, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3

Those variants are pretty common, and are implemented for example at AI-factory's Spades free app.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    +1 There are tons of variations of Spades. Any number of them might have a 2C being a trump card – Kevin Jul 7 at 19:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.