5

Scenario: I control Cavalcade of Calamity, three Tin Street Dodgers and Chandra's Pyreling enchanted with So Tiny. I have two cards in my graveyard. So now, my Chandra's Pyreling is -1/3. If I get it right, when I attack with all these creatures, Cavalcade's ability triggers four times, and in the result of that Chandra's Pyreling becomes 3/3 creature with double strike until the end of turn. Am I right?

  • 4
    I believe you mean "negative power," not "negative toughness." – jwodder Jul 13 at 15:15
  • Yeah that is what I meant :) – KK2020TM Jul 14 at 14:45
4

You are correct. From the complete rules:

107.1b Most of the time, the Magic game uses only positive numbers and zero. You can’t choose a negative number, deal negative damage, gain negative life, and so on. However, it’s possible for a game value, such as a creature’s power, to be less than zero. If a calculation or comparison needs to use a negative value, it does so. If a calculation that would determine the result of an effect yields a negative number, zero is used instead, unless that effect doubles or sets to a specific value a player’s life total or a creature’s power and/or toughness. Example: If a 3/4 creature gets -5/-0, it’s a -2/4 creature. It doesn’t assign damage in combat. Its total power and toughness is 2. Giving it +3/+0 would raise its power to 1.

So a negative power value is NOT treated as zero unless it's going to have a direct effect on the game like dealing damage. All other times (including your example), normal math is used, so 1 (initial power) minus 2 (so tiny) plus 4 ones (triggers) is 3.

| improve this answer | |
  • Thank you very much:) – KK2020TM Jul 14 at 14:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.