5

In the card game of Munchkin (or Munchkin Zombie) I've seen people put some cards on the table sideways. Usually, they can't use those cards for some reason like it's not for their class or they exhausted body parts limit.

They do that, so they could trade cards, that they cannot use.

Is it used to distinguish equipped and carried items?

The rulebook that came with the game (in the Polish language) does not cover this kind of behaviour.

Edit: For the base version of the game, there is a new one available online which has this covered. Also, all rulebooks in English include this rule.

  • 1
    Afaik it is covered in the rule book, but I could remember wrong. I do this, too, and these "tapped" cards are supposedly in your backpack. – Erik Jul 23 at 7:56
  • @Erik you are right, all current rulebooks in English contain this rule. My mistake. – Cezary Butler Jul 24 at 7:38
8

This appears to be a standard part of the rules for Munchkin for Item type cards.;

All Items you have in play are considered “carried.” Items that are actually giving you a bonus are “equipped.” You should indicate Items that are not equipped by turning the cards sideways. You may not alter the status of your Items during a combat or while running away

For rules for more specific expansions, the parent page of the link above is loaded.

| improve this answer | |
  • 2
    Might be worth pointing out that the rules only specify this for Items (not for Races or Classes). – Raj Jul 23 at 15:49
  • @Raj, yes it is just for items, I will highlight that. – Jontia Jul 23 at 18:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.