4

When playing the swashbuckler, if my discard pile has no cards in it, but I have at least 4 coffer tokens, can I take the treasure chest? (not sure if that only applies to the taking an additional coffer or to everything following.)

4
  • I don't think I've ever seen a question be answered by 4 people at once more or less simultaneously before! Jul 26 '20 at 17:03
  • @StartPlayer we are just eager to help. And due to the Corona it is hard to get people together to play so we have some time to spare. Jul 26 '20 at 17:16
  • 1
    Oh I know I answered my self. when you start typing there were no answers and by time I hit enter there were three already there. I'm glad we all gave the same answer! Jul 26 '20 at 19:06
  • Yeah I also didn’t see a “new answer” notification. And generally with Dominion questions there isn’t quite as large a following!
    – GendoIkari
    Jul 26 '20 at 22:33
3

No; the “if your discard pile has any cards in it” applies to the rest of the text.

From the official FAQ:

You cannot get the Treasure Chest unless your discard pile had at least one card.

2

No. The card text is clear on the breakpoint.

+3 cards

That's one line, and then the condition-colon-effect portion:

If your discard pile has any cards in it: +1 Coffers, then if you have at least 4 Coffers tokens, take the Treasure Chest.

But see also the FAQ:

First you draw 3 cards, then you check to see if your discard pile has any cards in it; if drawing those cards caused you to shuffle, your discard pile would be empty. If your discard pile has at least one card, you get +1 Coffers, and if you then have 4 or more tokens on your Coffers, you take the Treasure Chest. You cannot get the Treasure Chest unless your discard pile had at least one card.

2

The actions of the Swashbuckler are:

  1. You draw 3 cards
  2. You check to see if your discard pile has any cards in it; if drawing those cards caused you to shuffle, your discard pile would be empty.
  3. If your discard pile has at least one card, you get +1 Coffers, and if you then have 4 or more tokens on your Coffers, you take the Treasure Chest.

You cannot get the Treasure Chest unless your discard pile had at least one card.

You need to take the treasure chest the moment you get the fourth coffer. So it is not possible to get the treasure chest if you didn't get the coffer. So no you wouldn't get the treasure chest if the discard pile is empty because you will not get a Coffer.

1

Swashbuckler card

Reading this it seems to me that would not. That colon looks very much like everything that follows it is reliant on not having an empty discard pile. This is also backed up by the Dominion Strategy wiki which says the same in section labeled official FAQ.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.