Let's say one creature has died this turn. I have Kaervek, the Spiteful on the battlefield, and then I flash in Liliana's Standard Bearer. This card has an enters-the-battlefield trigger which says "draw X cards where X is the number of creatures that died this turn".

Obviously the Standard Bearer is going to die immediately to Kaervek's static ability. When the enters-the-battlefield trigger resolves, does it count the Standard Bearer as a creature that died this turn?

1 Answer 1


Yes, you will draw a card for the Standard Bearer as well. This is explained in the rulings under the card in Gatherer:

The value of X is determined only as the triggered ability resolves. If Liliana’s Standard Bearer dies while that ability’s on the stack, it will count itself.

  • 4
    My God, I got to start reading the Gatherer rulings before asking questions.
    – Allure
    Aug 2, 2020 at 10:02
  • 2
    @Allure I kinda think there should be stickied question and answer pointing out that if you have a MtG question, and you link to a card in your question, you should check whether there is an answer to your question at the bottom of the linked page. Aug 4, 2020 at 5:14
  • @Acccumulation good idea, I've proposed something that uses an existing Stack Exchange feature.
    – Glorfindel
    Aug 4, 2020 at 7:19

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .