Let's say one creature has died this turn. I have Kaervek, the Spiteful on the battlefield, and then I flash in Liliana's Standard Bearer. This card has an enters-the-battlefield trigger which says "draw X cards where X is the number of creatures that died this turn".

Obviously the Standard Bearer is going to die immediately to Kaervek's static ability. When the enters-the-battlefield trigger resolves, does it count the Standard Bearer as a creature that died this turn?


Yes, you will draw a card for the Standard Bearer as well. This is explained in the rulings under the card in Gatherer:

The value of X is determined only as the triggered ability resolves. If Liliana’s Standard Bearer dies while that ability’s on the stack, it will count itself.

  • 4
    My God, I got to start reading the Gatherer rulings before asking questions. – Allure Aug 2 '20 at 10:02
  • 2
    @Allure I kinda think there should be stickied question and answer pointing out that if you have a MtG question, and you link to a card in your question, you should check whether there is an answer to your question at the bottom of the linked page. – Acccumulation Aug 4 '20 at 5:14
  • @Acccumulation good idea, I've proposed something that uses an existing Stack Exchange feature. – Glorfindel Aug 4 '20 at 7:19

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.