3

Do all tiles played in one move need to be adjacent to each other? Example - there is a Y on the board, can a player place the letter E on both sides to make the word EYE ?

1
6

No, they need only be in a single line.

For example, your EYE is allowed.

The official Scrabble rules has this legitimate example for playing FARM across a previous play of HORN:

Turn 1: "HORN". Turn 2: Playing F,A, and M to make "FARM" across the R in "HORN"

1
  • They also need to form a single word. You can't play I and O under the p and y of play in a single turn for example. – Jontia Aug 15 '20 at 22:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.