2

I tried reading the rule book and it didn't say if there was a limit how many times you could do it. I assume there must be. Given a monster with an ignition effect, how many times can I activate it per turn?

2

Given a monster with an ignition effect, how many times can I activate it per turn?

Short answer is each card or monster will specify the number of times that you can activate their effects.

Usually this is written in the form of "Once per turn...", or "During your Main phase...". Some may say "twice", some even say "Once per Duel", etc..

In more general terms this is written in the form of:

"[Times it can be activated]+[Conditions needed to activate], [cost for activating]; [the effect]"

| improve this answer | |
  • Catapult turtle doesn't say anything like that though... – temporary_user_name Sep 20 at 6:10
  • @temporary_user_name Yes it does. The text reads "Once per turn". Perhaps you are looking at an old printing of the card? See yugioh.fandom.com/wiki/Catapult_Turtle – DarkCygnus Sep 20 at 6:12
  • @temporary_user_name to be more precise, Catapult Turtle's effect was changed. Previously it didn't had restrictions but now it does have an Errata that changed it to Once per turn (as to avoid OTK or FTK). See yugioh.fandom.com/wiki/Card_Errata:Catapult_Turtle. More recent printings do say "Once per turn". – DarkCygnus Sep 20 at 6:14
  • 1
    @temporary_user_name the definitive source is Konami. However, the Wiki is a very thorough and up to date site... It's a solid resource if I may say. If any, you can find the most recent printing of any card there (or googling) and then google what Konami has said about them. For example this is the most recent printing of the Turtle.DL18-EN001 – DarkCygnus Sep 20 at 6:20
  • 1
    @temporary_user_name it seems like so... at least in a way that changed the original effect of the card, like when they Killed Ring Of destruction. Other changes like wording or more clear phrasing are not erratas AFAIK – DarkCygnus Sep 20 at 6:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.