Let's say I'm in a multiplayer game. I cast Assassin's Trophy targeting opponent A's Sol Ring. Opponent B controlls Aladdin and responde by activating the ability targeting the same Sol Ring. Aladdin's ability resolves and opponent B gains control of Sol Ring.

Will Assassin's Trophy fizzle or will it still destroy the Sol Ring but allow opponent B to fetch the basic land instead?


Yes. An object that changes controllers is still the same object, so a spell that targeted it will continue to target it.

Assassin's Trophy checks who controls the targeted permanent as the spell resolves, so in this scenario opponent B will fetch the basic land.

  • Note this can cause it to fizzle due to an illegal target (say if the same player both cast assassin's trophy and used Aladdin - then the opponent controls requirement won't be met anymore)
    – Andrew
    Sep 29 '20 at 19:51

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.