0

May I use a 6+4 in substitution of a double 5 to enter two pieces into play in Parchessi? Since I may use any combination which adds up to five to enter one piece and I am allowed to enter two pieces with a double 5, the rules been vague in this, It seems only logical that it may be allowed.

2

No. Each die is used in toto of itself. You cannot re-combine the pips in other combinations. As for the special case of entering, the rules are clear on this.

Pieces may only leave the nest with a roll of a five on a single die or the sum of the dice. A double five can be used to move two pieces from the nest simultaneously.

3
  • Thank you for the replay. As the rule stated: "...the sum of the dice." It is acceptable a 4-1 or a 3-2; to enter one piece. Therefore, it is the same math, a 6-4 to enter two pieces. Isn't it? Oct 26 '20 at 17:34
  • You can use one of the dice or both, but not part of a die (whether you add that part to the other die or not). A 6-4 allows one pawn to move 6 and the other 4, or one pawn to move 10. It won't allow one pawn to move 5, nor two pawns to move 5 each. Oct 26 '20 at 17:48
  • The sum may not me multiples of five to move peices from the nest. it may only be five.
    – npst
    Oct 28 '20 at 9:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.