1

If you fail to find a lower CMC spell in your deck while cascading, would Averna, the Chaos Bloom drop all of the land in your deck into play on one turn?

The wording on the card is:

As you cascade, you may put a land card from among the exiled cards onto the battlefield tapped. (Do this after the last card is exiled but before deciding whether to cast a nonland card.)

4

No.

Cascade is defined as:

702.84a Cascade is a triggered ability that functions only while the spell with cascade is on the stack. “Cascade” means “When you cast this spell, exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card whose converted mana cost is less than this spell’s converted mana cost. You may cast that card without paying its mana cost. Then put all cards exiled this way that weren’t cast on the bottom of your library in a random order.”

So if you don't have a lower CMC spell in your deck, you will exile your entire library one card at a time. Once all cards are exiled, you get to put a land card onto the battlefield tapped. Then you are done.

1
  • Thank I missed the single land in the spoiler
    – Styxsksu
    Nov 12 '20 at 14:55

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.