The Ticket to Ride rules include this process:
When the deck is exhausted, the discards are reshuffled into a new draw pile deck.
The phrase "when the deck is exhausted" could be interpreted several ways:
- "at the time the deck is made empty"
- "at the time the deck cannot satisfy a player's draw"
- "at the time the deck is made empty or cannot satisfy a player's draw"
- "any time the deck is empty"
Option 4 seems the most reasonable. With this interpretation, assuming the deck is empty and there are no discards, when a player claims a route, their discarded cards would be immediately reshuffled into a draw pile deck.
Is this the intended interpretation? If not, when should the draw pile deck be replenished after it and the discard pile have both been exhausted?