First, we need to have a definition of "wrong", here. That will define if it's even possible for a V.I.R. to be allowed on the Barker tile.
When you draw Visitors of the wrong color, put them on the Barker tile instead of the Visitors pool.
If you want e.g. a red robot , but you draw a V.I.R., the V.I.R. can go to the red spot, but you may not want it to—hence, I think the V.I.R. can be considered "right" or "wrong", per the player's decision.
Given that, imagine that there is a V.I.R. on the Barker tile already. I interpret the rules, then, to be that…
- You may only gain that V.I.R. when you spend only one visitor die for your Attract action.
- You then can either take another non-V.I.R. Visitor off of the Barker tile, or throw one more into the bag, and draw one.
When you Attract Visitors, for each that you spend, you can choose to directly take a Visitor from the Barker tile instead of the normal action. You immediately gain 1 Dirt token for each Visitor you take from the Barker tile.
When you perform the Attract Visitors action by spending only 1, you may choose and take 1 regular Visitor AND one V.I.R. Visitor from the Visitors pool and put them both in the bag. If you do, when you draw Visitors to complete the action, you must draw out TWO Visitors instead of only ONE.