Extinction Event reads

Choose odd or even. Exile each creature with converted mana cost of the chosen value.

Why can't I respond to my opponent's choice of odd/even, for example by activating my Witch's Oven? Making this choice is the part of the spell so once the player chooses, shouldn't I be able to react as it still should be on the stack? Is this just an Arena bug?


You cannot react to the even/odd choice in Extinction Event because that choice is made during the spell's resolution.

In general, you don't make all kinds of choices while casting a spell. As specified in rules 601.2b-d, you choose modes, splices, other cost modifiers, targets, and how to divide or distribute an effect among targets. Any other choice, like even/odd in Extinction Event, doesn't happen until the spell resolves.

While the choice on Extinction Event may look similar to a modal choice, a modal choice specifically requires you to choose from a list of actions, so an instruction to "choose" other things is different.

This fact is also mentioned in a Gatherer ruling on Extinction Event:

You choose odd or even while Extinction Event is resolving. Players can’t take any actions between the time you make that choice and the time some creatures go extinct.

  • 1
    Thanks, I was exactly thinking about the modal choice (did not know the name), which is also why it looked weird to me. I should have checked if for rulings first though. – eXPRESS Nov 28 '20 at 11:30
  • You also make decisions related to costs during casting, but that's pretty obvious. – ikegami Nov 30 '20 at 6:34
  • You're right. I expanded that part a little to make it more accurate. – murgatroid99 Nov 30 '20 at 6:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.