I would imagine that when using the "rule of 11," you would subtract the card's rank from 12 instead of 11 to get the number of outstanding cards higher than the led card outside of the opening leader's hand. Is this correct?
And suppose partner had A-Q-T-8-x, or A-Q-9-7-x that is five "disconnected" cards. Using "fourth best," partner would lead the 8 or 7, and "third best, partner would lead the T or 9. How would one distinguish such a lead from the "top of nothing?" Or is the whole point being that if you are leading "third best, you should lead x (low) from T9x or 98x?
What other adjustments need to be made, if any?