Is the 'Attack' action the last action you take during your turn or can you take other actions after this is done?

1 Answer 1


Typically yes, attacking is the last action you take prior to ending your turn. See the TCG Rulebook, page 9.

  1. Attack. Then, end your turn.

Some turns you may take other actions to end your turn and not attack. But there is no second main phase like in Magic. Once you declare an attack there is no more playing cards unless the attack requires it.

  • Thanks for the answer :) I'm use to playing Magic and having that second main phase.
    – Yellaks
    Dec 16, 2020 at 12:14
  • Indeed - the reverse here, I rarely remember to save mana for second main. But the reason is that there are no instants - and so no reason to save resources. It is a simpler turn, in some ways.
    – Joe
    Dec 16, 2020 at 12:15
  • Yeah it is, but a bit confusing in some other ways haha. Only started playing it as my step-son was really keen on the game. He kept stating that you could take other actions after attacking, hence the question.
    – Yellaks
    Dec 16, 2020 at 12:20
  • Yep, it’s very common for kids that learn on the playground to learn a lot of rules differently than the official rules! Consider trying out the online game (PTCGO) to get an idea of the complete official rules - it’s free to play.
    – Joe
    Dec 16, 2020 at 12:26
  • YGO also has phases after the attack phase, that allow players to respond to any trap cards or flip effects that their opponent activates as a direct result of an attack. This mechanic isn't in Pokemon, so extra phases aren't often necessary or even desirable. Jun 15, 2021 at 19:01

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .