3

My friend has built a dire avenger exarch with a shimmer shield which gives it a 5+ invulnerable save. However it has the ability Battle fortune which gives the exarch a 4+ invulnerable save.

How does this work? Is the shimmer shield just a waste on the exarch?

1
  • 1
    The shimmershield gives all the other dire avengers the invulnerable save, it isn't totally redundant.
    – Caleth
    Feb 1, 2022 at 10:12

1 Answer 1

4

(Note: I am assuming you are playing 9th edition here since it is the latest ruleset)

The Shimmer Shield is definitely redundant on the Exarch.

From the rules (page 19 under Invulnerable Saves):

If a model has more than one invulnerable save, it can only use one of them – choose which it will use.

So the player would never have a reason to choose the Shimmer Shield unless the player (for some reason) wanted the Exarch to have a higher chance of dying.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .