House of Music guild card states:

"Whenever you use the Tavern, you may also capture a monster from the Forest or fight a captured monster."

Witch's Hut location states:

"Use the ability at the Location of the King's Guard"

So, do I get to capture/fight a monster when using the Witch's Hut, and the King's Guard is at the tavern? I don't know if "use the ability" and "use the location" are synonymous. (Normally' it's irrelevant, because you can't separate the two ideas.)

This Q/A is related, but not the same.


Yes, "use the location" is short for "use the ability at the location".

See this usage from the designer's posts here and here.

The designer refers to this variously as (emphasis added):

using the ability at the location is optional.

location ability may be used

You can use the forest but decide not to defeat anything

So when you activate it ...

  • I’m not getting that from the links you posted (one of which is the one I posted). Can you help me see the wording that ties them together like you’re suggesting?
    – user34579
    Jan 6 at 22:49
  • @Jessy Sure: I've edited my answer to include the examples I'm basing the answer on. Jan 7 at 12:48
  • Yeah, seems like the same thing. Nice collection of evidence.
    – user34579
    Jan 7 at 14:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy