The text for the Scientific Cooperation Pact reads:

Every time one of the civilizations plays a technology, it pays 2 science less and the other civilization pays 1 science.

What happens if the other civilization has zero accumulated science? Does the tech-playing civilization still get the 2 science discount, or does the pact have no effect?


I actually fell into this trap in a game, and was surprised at the rules. If the other civilization can't pay, you can't develop.

The question was asked on BGG, and the rule that covered it was also discussed there- it's on the last page of the rules, i.e. on pg. 20 under Scientific Cooperation:

If one civilization has no science points, neither civilization can play a technology.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.