2

In Settlers of Catan, we have been discussing the possibility of playing a development card before moving the robber but after rolling a 7. The idea came from someone wanting to play a monopoly card before moving the knight in order to increase his chances of getting a specific resource from the robber steal.

He argued that he could play the monopoly card since you are allowed to play a development card whenever on your turn, but others feel that this is a bit cheap. Is there a concrete ruling either way?

5

No, you can’t do that.

Under the rules for rolling a 7, it says that you “immediately” move the robber. This implies that cannot do anything in between.

a) Rolling a “7” and activating the robber

If you roll a “7,” no one receives any resources.

Instead, every player who has 8 or more resource cards must select half (rounded down) of their resource cards and return them to the bank.

Then you must move the robber. Proceed as follows:

(1) You must move the robber immediately to the number token of any other terrain hex or to the desert hex.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.