1

Can I use the MTG card Divinity of Pride in my mono black commander deck? It's a multi-colored card - black/white - but it pays for either four swamps (black mana) or four plains (white mana). I know of the rule in commander indicating that "All cards must be in the color identity of the commander." But since this is a black/white and can pay for either four black or four white, I just want to clarify. So, my question is Can I use Divinity of Pride in a mono black commander deck? If not, then what card is/similar to Divinity of Pride but is a mono black?

0
2

Can I use Divinity of Pride in a mono black commander deck?

No.

903.4. The Commander variant uses color identity to determine what cards can be in a deck with a certain commander. The color identity of a card is the color or colors of any mana symbols in that card’s mana cost or rules text, plus any colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities (see rule 604.3) or color indicator (see rule 204).

White appears in Divinity of Pride's mana cost, so it can't be used in your mono-black Commander deck.


If not, then what card is/similar to Divinity of Pride but is a mono black?

There is no mono-black creature gaining abilities depending on having X "or more life" – that's an ability associated with white.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.